MVI Google UndoIt’s happened to all of us: At the very second we hit the send button, a previously overlooked typo now seems to be illuminated on the screen. Thankfully, Google now offers a solution to end the shame. Previously available only in Gmail Labs and more recently Inbox, Undo Send is now available as a formal setting on Gmail. The feature allows you to cancel delivery of any email within 30 seconds of hitting send. Great news for those of us who’ve ever forgotten to attach a file or inadvertently hit “Reply All.”

To activate the setting, simply follow these steps taken directly from the Google Support Page:

  • Click the gear in the top right of your screen.
  • Select Settings.
  • Scroll down to “Undo Send” and click Enable.
  • Set the cancellation period (the amount of time you have to decide if you want to unsend an email).
  • Click Save Changes at the bottom of the page.

The default setting is 10 seconds, however we recommend selecting the 30 second option as it gives the most time to realize mistakes. Also, remember nothing is guaranteed. Those experiencing connection issues may not be able to effectively use the feature.

For more tips and tech news delivered right to your inbox SIGN UP FOR OUR NEWSLETTER.